Congratulations to Jimmie Johnson who has won his record-tying seventh NASCAR Championship.

Jimmie joins Richard Petty and Dale Earnhardt as the only drivers to have won seven titles.

After the race yesterday, my Facebook page was blowing up with friends talking about the NASCAR Chase Format. Some congratulated Jimmie and most talked about how they hate the points format. Had NASCAR stuck with the same format that they used for Richard Petty & Dale Earnhardt's years of winning the Championship, Jimmie would not have won this year's Championship. Actually, Jimmie wasn't even in the Top 5 for the old format. Kevin Harvick would have been this year's champion and Jimmie would have been 7th. Below is the Top 15 in point the old way according to JAYSKI.COM.

1) #4-Kevin Harvick 1159
2) #22-Joey Logano 1133
3) #18-Kyle Busch 1105
4) #2-Brad Keselowski 1089
5) #11-Denny Hamlin 1084
6) #41-Kurt Busch 1055
7) #48-Jimmie Johnson 1007
8) #19-Carl Edwards 1005
9) #20-Matt Kenseth 997
10) #78-Martin Truex 991
11) #24-Chase Elliott 966
12) #42-Kyle Larson 931
13) #1-Jamie McMurray 907
14) #3-Austin Dillon 902
15) #5-Kasey Kahne 898