It’s down to two.  Current MVP Stephen Curry and the Golden State Warriors will take on 4-time MVP LeBron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers in the NBA Finals.  It’s been 40 years since the Warriors won their lone NBA title as Golden State.  Their other two came in 1947 and 1956 when they were the Philadelphia Warriors.  The Cavs are making their second Finals appearance, and are looking for their first championship in their 45-year history.

An intriguing storyline, of course, is the battle of the MVPs.  LeBron has two rings and multiple MVP awards.  This makes an amazing five  straight Finals appearances, the previous four coming as a member of the Miami Heat.  Curry is the new kid in town, winning his first MVP this past season after many thought, after being drafted, he was too small to be a real standout in the league.  Another interesting fact – James and Curry were born in the same Akron, Ohio hospital.

  • Game 1: Thursday,  June 4 at Golden State
  • Game 2: Sunday,  June 7 at Golden State
  • Game 3: Tuesday,  June 9 at Cleveland
  • Game 4: Thursday, June 11 at Cleveland
  • Game 5: Sunday, June 14 at Golden State (if necessary)
  • Game 6: Tuesday, June 16 at Cleveland (if necessary)
  • Game 7: Friday, June 19 at Golden State (if necessary)
Getty Images


Getty Images